Pear preserves

fallpics-011.jpg fallpics-010.jpg fallpics15.jpg

I’ve been busy making pear preserves yesterday and today. I think it is going to be more like marmalade rather than preserves, which is okay with me. If I had thought about it sooner I would have used sliced oranges instead of lemons! We picked them yesterday. Actually I knocked them out of the tree with the fire poker….LOL My son picked them up and I then peeled them and went to work on them this morning. They have to sit for 12 hours and then I’ll can them. They are nice and juicy Sand Pears. We had a bumper crop this year!

Here is where I got my recipe: http://www.texascooking.com/recipes/Pearprsv.htm

I have been using the same recipe for years, and lost it….so I went hunting for another one. This one sounded good, so I’m giving it a try.

Really everything we have grown in the garden and trees, such as the pecans, have really outdone themselves this year.

Here is a picture of some lettuce I just picked for a salad:

fallpics-018.jpg

Lunch today was:

Spaghetti w/ homemade meat sauce

Semi-Homemade garlic cheese rolls (I used storebought rolls, buttered them and sprinkled them with garlic, parmesan and 4 grated cheeses)

A big salad w/ 3 kinds of lettuce, sliced onions and bell pepper from the garden.

Now after I rest for a bit, I’ll start to work on my Thanksgiving dinner! The turkey is thawing, pecans are picked up and ready to be shelled, and I’ll pick collards later this evening.

My menu will be:

Turkey

Cornbread Chicken & Dressing w/ cranberry sauce

Deviled eggs

Potato salad

Collard greens

Homemade bread

Pecan pie

Pumpkin pie

Sweet tea

I’m probably forgetting something, I’m sure….

All of this after we go to pick up some MS grown Navel oranges down on the coast. Ocean Springs I believe is where the grove is located. My son is going with me, he’s been there before…I was just informed I’ll be doing this … LOL Better get moving, and get ready!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blessings

Leave a Reply

